I want to buy my garden

April 3, 2012

Property

I rent rather than own part of my garden, and have done for 20 years, paying £32 a year.   However, given that it is ‘landlocked’ it is of no use to anyone else.    I have asked the company which owns the land whether it would sell it to me, but they asked me for an unaffordable £6500 plus £800 in fees.    A new  person has taken over and said I should suggest a price.     I am trying to find out the value of local garden land.

It is difficult to come up with general value for garden land because it depends on its potential utility to the property which surrounds it.     You should ask a local surveyor: by how much would the ownership of this piece of garden enhance the value of your home?       Then you should think in terms of sharing this uplift in value with the landowner.   For example, if the ownership of the garden would increase the value of your home by £10,000, you might consider offering £5000 to buy it.

About sebastianokelly

HomeTruths.co, joint editor

View all posts by sebastianokelly

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

